Articles & Meetings


Janice Zimmerman (President)

Dr. Janice L. Zimmerman was elected as President in November 2017. She is the first woman in the history of the organisation to hold this leadership role and will serve until 2019.

Dr Zimmerman is currently Professor of Clinical Medicine, Department of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College and adjunct Professor of Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine and Texas A & M College of Medicine. She is Head of the Critical Care Division for the Department of Medicine and Program Director of the Pulmonary/Critical Care Fellowship Program at Houston Methodist Hospital in Houston, Texas. She is board certified in Internal Medicine and Critical Care. She attended medical school and completed residency and fellowship training at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas.

Dr. Zimmerman is a Fellow of ACCP and Master of SCCM and ACP and was an elected Council member of SCCM from 2001 to 2013. She was awarded the Distinguished Service Award from SCCM in 2001 and 2013. She has been involved in the development, revision and promotion of the Fundamental Critical Care Support course since 1995. She was elected as a Council member of the Panamerican and Iberic Federation of Societies of Critical Care and Intensive Care from 2003 to 2011. She has been a member of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Guidelines Committee since its inception. She is regularly invited to present at regional, national and international critical care meetings and board review courses. Her areas of expertise and interest include sepsis, ARDS, overdoses, coagulation, transfusion, and non-invasive ventilation.

In compliance with the Conflict of Interest Policy adopted in 2019, Dr Zimmerman is required to submit an Annual Disclosure of Interests statement. You can view Dr Zimmerman's 2019 declaration HERE.