The World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine (WFSICCM) started its journey, promoted by Dr. Alan Gilston from the UK, after the 1st World Congress of Intensive Care Medicine in London in 1974. At the following World Congress in 1977 the constitution was adopted by the General Assembly delegates and the organisation was officialy formed.


In 2016 the WFSICCM membership comprises over 80 societies (79 physicians' societies and 1 nurses society) in over 75 countries of the world.

The total estimated membership of our family of Societies is over 80,000 physicians. New societies are invited to establish contact with the aim of becoming members of the WFSICCM.



Founding Committee

Osamu Aochi, Japan

Simon Bursztein, Israel

Alan Gilston, UK

Ake Grenvik, USA

Kenichi Iwatsuki, Japan

Sergio Magalini, Italy

John O'Donovan, Australia

Norma Shoemaker, USA

Antonio T. Simao, Brazil

Alberto Villazon, Mexico

Christopher Bryan-Brown, USA

Shamay Cotev, Israel

Maurice Goulon, France

John Homit, Jamaica

Ruaraidh McIntyre, Canada

Corrado Manni, Italy

Claude Perret, Switzerland

Ron Trubowitch, New Zealand

Hugh Van Hasselt, South Africa

Robert Wright, Australia

13th World Congress

banner mundial2017 300x300px ENG August 2017


Update Your Society Profile


Click Here to update your Society Member details and keep us up to date with your society.

WFSICCM Constitution


The latest Consitution was approved and then ratified by the General Assemblies meeting in Soeul, Korea in August 2015.


View the WFSICCM Constitution by clicking HERE